“Balls!” Said the Queen

Dr. Kim has indeed recorded her excellent Anxiety webinar, and I’ve accordingly revised 

https://astrobuss.wordpress.com/2016/01/20/dr-kim-on-anxiety-right-now/

It was short (actually, none) notice, so if you missed it, I recommend it.

A reader points out a fascinating introduction to a 1993 book by Jungian Genia Pauli Haddon (with two ds) that seems to have been mostly ignored so far, judging from the (lack of) Amazoo traffic on it…

http://charleseisenstein.net/the-testicular-age/ 

Some excerpts that convince me she’s not just redefining and rearranging words, but expanding my Perspectives…

“Unlike the penis, which is given to occasional action, the testicles’ function of producing, storing and conserving harks to male Yin qualities like patience, steadfastness, supportiveness, solidity, stability, reliability, and resourcefulness.”

“Sticktoitedness” in the words of the Archetypal high-school coach I’m sure we all shared.  They just “hang in there” according to the Library Journal review of her earlier book.

“Birth (and menstruation) show us feminine qualities that our culture denigrates or ignores, which Haddon groups under the descriptor “exertive” – literally, “pushing out”.  These include pushing forward, transformation, bringing forth the new, urging forward, propelling, dissolving the old (as in menstruation), forceful, bearing down, demanding, assertive, active in emergency, acting in concert with natural forces, harnessing the energies of the moment.  

“Haddon explains the difference between the feminine and masculine Yang as follows: both are assertive, but while the phallic Yang is goal­-oriented, the feminine Yang acts from a field of reference.  One is forging toward, the other is birthing from.”

Wondering if I could find out her relationship to Jung’s collaborator Wolfgang Pauli, I stumbled on this article, an excellent introduction to Homeopathy…

http://www.lymeneteurope.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=166&sid=a1f8d41b43a4daa388d9f11db2214514

Interesting that her Lyme disease struck just as her book was being published.  In it she recommends the Monroe Institute’s Hemi-Synch Sleep meditations ( http://shop.hemi-sync.com/products/c264-Sleep-Dreams/ ).

And here’s another excellent introduction, this one to the rewards of Self-Love…

http://www.radiancemagazine.com/issues/1995/winter95_ghaddon.html

An excerpt…

On the second afternoon, moved by an impulse much deeper than conscious intention, I found myself volunteering to hold an informal teaching session to share with my slim colleagues what my own body had taught me about tailoring classic postures to the rounded physique.  To my surprise, more than twenty people signed up to come.

” ‘Oh no!. What have I done?’ I lamented to Linda during the break, as the old ‘I can’t do this’ syndrome took hold again.  In reality, I did have something valuable to share.  You see, in spite of the supportive attitude of all my Kripalu teachers, not a single one of them had known how to help me adjust postures to fit me.  The suggestions they sometimes made just didn’t work.  By attuning ourselves to our own bodies, by experimenting throughout the months and years, Linda and I had discovered for ourselves what would work.  By sharing this now with our fellow yoga teachers, we might empower them to offer genuine help for their own large-size students.

“Linda and I spent the rest of the break brainstorming together, and that evening we presented an informal show-and-tell session that was so well received we agreed to do an encore the following night.  We taught the other teachers tips for supporting body weight safely and comfortably.  We demonstrated subtle modifications of postures to accommodate the reality of big hips and breasts.  We talked about negative cultural attitudes toward fat bodies and discussed the blatant or subtle messages of disapproval they might be giving their heavier students.  We began to develop graceful language for talking openly about large bodies, in ways that communicate respect, support, and acceptance.

“For me, physically demonstrating postures under the scrutiny of twenty-some slim yogis and yoginis was a coming-out party.  Although their respect and admiration were gratifying, what really mattered was that I felt confident and good about myself the whole time I was revealing my body in ways that had formerly exposed me to ridicule.”

Those “subtle messages of disapproval” from athletic Kriya Yoga teachers have long since turned me away from Yoga.  Another Self-Judgment to Love into Oblivion.

Leave a Reply

